Knitting

Knitted baby blanket for beginners

Do you have a special little one in your life that you want to make something for, but aren’t quite an expert yet? I’m so glad I found this pattern because not only was it easy, but it knit up really quick and it’s soft as can be.

For this pattern I used Loops and Threads Charisma yarn in Charcoal, Dark Blue, and Black. I used almost all of the 4 skeins – I had very little black left over when the blanket was finished. I also used size 13, or 9.0 mm, bamboo knitting needles. Can we talk about how soft this yarn is? I’m tempted to make myself a larger blanket using this yarn because of how incredibly soft it is. And, after I washed it, it got EVEN SOFTER! This yarn has quickly become a favorite. I can’t wait to use it again!

The pattern is initially from Lion Brand and is their Bright Nursery Baby Throw. This blanket is knitted on the bias, or from corner to corner. If that sounds intimidating, it’s NOT! All you need to know how to do is knit and yarn over.

BLANKET
Cast on 5 sts.
Row 1: Knit.
Row 2: K3, yo, k2.
Row 3: K3, yo, k3.
Row 4: K3, yo, k to end of row.
Rep last row until you have 90 sts on needle.
Next (decrease) row: K2, k2tog, yo, k2tog, k to end of row.
Rep last row until 5 sts remain. Bind off.

FINISHING
Weave in ends.

If you’re just starting out, knitting into the yarn overs is going to feel really strange at first. It’s much more loose than a knit stitch, but you’ll get used to it. The yarn overs create this really cool “holed” border.

I used different colors and made different sized stripes to give the blanket a little more interest. The lucky man receiving this blanket turns two in June. I can’t believe how old he’s gotten already!

 

Thanks for reading, and I hope you learned something cool today!

Leave a comment