Houseplants

Growing a pineapple plant in the midwest. 

In the summer of 2013, I read a Pinterest article all about how you could plant the top of a pineapple you bought at the store and grow your own pineapple plant. We happened to have a pineapple on the counter waiting to be cut up and ate, so when my mother chopped off the top I had her save it.

Unfortunately my blog wasn’t even the faintest idea in my mind at the time, so progress photos never happened. However, there is a really good, detailed article that explains step by step exactly how we got our plant started here.

I’m not going to lie, I’ve since moved out and didn’t take the pineapple with me. So the photo below is all due to the love and care of my father. (My mom didn’t realized how large the plant was going to get and begged me to let her toss it – I obviously rejected).

During the summer my parents keep the plant outdoors where it gets about 5 hours of good sun, and then move it indoors during the winter near an east-facing window. As far as I know, they haven’t fertilized or repotted the plant since 2013, so the fact that it’s doing so well is actually quite shocking. I guess the pineapple is more hardy than most people think!

This photo was taken in February 2016. With any luck, we’ll soon see this “flower” bloom and perhaps get some fruit in the summer! How exciting.

Disclaimer: our pineapple grew to about 2 and a half feet tall, and about 3 and a half to four feet wide. The leaves come to a very sharp point, so I’m not sure if this would be the best houseplant to have around small children. I’ve ran into it a number of times and let me tell you – it HURTS!

I hope you learned something cool today. Thanks for looking!

Leave a comment